Yoga is a way of life, an art of righteous living or an integrated system for the benefit of the  body, mind and inner spirit. This art originated, was perfected and practiced in India thousands of years ago. The references to yoga are available in 'Upanishads' and 'Puranas' composed by Indian Aryans in the later Vedic and post- Vedic period. The main credit for systematizing yoga goes to Patanjali who wrote 'Yoga Sutra', two thousand Years ago. He described the principles of the full eight fold yogic discipline. He composed the treatise in brief code words known as 'Sutras'. It is through this basic treatise that the essential message of yoga spread throughout the world. Aim of Yoga is the attainment of the physical, mental and spiritual health.


Five types of yoga are :

1. Japa yoga

2. Karma yoga

3. Gyana yoga

4. Bhakti yoga

5. Raja yoga.


Patanjali has recommended eight stages of Yoga discipline.

  1. Yamas - Yamas (abstentions or restrains)

  2. Niyamas - Niyamas (observances)-austerities, purity contentment, study, surrender of the ego

  3. Asanas - Physical postures or exercises

  4. Pranayama - Control of vital energy (Breathing control)

  5. Partyahara - Withdrawal of the senses

  6. Dharana - Concentration of the mind (Contemplation)

  7. Dhyana - Meditation

  8. Samadhi - Attainment of The super conscious state